6th Sense While Riding: Backtracker Technology

Screen Shot 2014-08-15 at 6.04.05 PMAfter watching the video about Backtracker, it certainly got my attention about what it claims to do.  Having a device to let you know when something is approaching seems to be a good idea.  Once you are alerted, my question would be how would you react differently, compared to having a mirror that allowed you to see what was coming?

For me, I’m not sure my reaction would be substantially different…except maybe turning my head around to see what was coming (probably a vehicle), so for that matter, the mirror has a slight advantage of eliminating me from turning around, taking my eyes off what was in front of me (longer).

Screen Shot 2014-08-15 at 5.53.21 PM

 

Cool gadget, for sure, though.  A mirror is just one thing that is attached to your helmet or bar end which doesn’t clutter up the precious space on either side of your stem.  The Backtracker comes with an indicator that mounts to your bars (in that precious space), so that ‘may’ compete with other items you currently have mounted there.

Not being negative, I’m just raising my initial thoughts about this.  What are your thoughts?  Any different from mine?  If so, let me know in the COMMENT section.

Bottom line, I like their thinking and ambition to do something about it.  For the masses, nothing is ever done.

See ya on the road,

Coach Robert

2 responses to “6th Sense While Riding: Backtracker Technology

  1. I don’t want to know what is coming from behind. If I did, I would dump out 2-3 times during a solo ride. I believe maintaining your line is the safest course. Frankly, Prayer is the only thing that can protect us sometimes…

    • Good point, Joey. Like you, I’d rather stay focused on what IS in my control and leave the rest to the good Lord. This way, if I am hit, then I’ll be as relaxed as possible….which equates to less potential injury. What? Yep. Think of how many drunks who hit other drivers and see who is injured the most. When we tense up, it causes more injury; that’s just a fact.

Leave a Reply

