RECAP: Atlanta WBL Ride #2

Mini Ride Clinic.  Dec 19th, 8:45am-9:10am.

 

screen-shot-2013-11-21-at-6-04-10-pm

 

My day started at 6:30am, as I needed to get to the ride start, as I was doing a little mini ride clinic from 8:45-9:10am.  After arriving at 8am, I was pretty stoked to see about a half dozen riders pull up about 10 minutes later.  Hey, the ride doesn’t start till 9:30, but that got me really excited.  I LOVE to connect with folks so this gave me time to go around and chat it up a bit.

With the temps being almost 20 degrees colder than Ride #1 (where we had about 130 riders), I fully expected to see the headcount go down.  I wasn’t expecting over a 100 last ride, so over a 100 for this day would be high hopes.  Boy, was I wrong!!!  We still had 115 riders show up.  WOW!!!

FUNNY COINCIDENTAL AT MY EXPENSE
Leave it to me, to be a little renegade…without even knowing it.  I moved the area where we staged our  loiteringRide Mtg, cuz we were blocked the road quite a bit last time.  After getting home and then going right back out for a 3-hr client session, I came home to find this very funny shot posted on Facebook.  Hey, I never even noticed this NO LOITERING sign before.  Oh well….U-Haul still loves us.

I have to give a HUGE shout out to my Ride Leaders, as they are the glue that makes this whole crazy idea of an organized winter ride series, work.  Jim and Carlton (been here from the start 3 yrs ago), Angela and Amy (from Sorella Cycling Club and Carolina (from Atlanta Tri Club).  

BIG GROUPS | RIDE LEADER
Both the A and B groups still had 50 riders in each, which we will need to split up; that’s just too big.  As soon as we get more Ride Leaders, then that will happen.  Thanks to those who indicated they wanted to help in that regard.  On that note, please LIKE our Atlanta WBL Facebook page, as this is where I’ll post Ride Leader Clinic info.

MINI RIDE CLINIC
Since riding in an actual ride is not the best scenario to focus and learn countless skill sets, I am again hosting another mini Ride Clinic at Ride #3, 8:45-9:10am, Dec 19th.  I might even have a few little surprises up my sleeve for the C/D group riders for next ride.  Again, watch our Atlanta WBL Facebook page for upcoming details.

PRIZES | DRAWINGS
As a reminder, there are 3 give-aways I created, just to add a little fun over the 10-ride Series.

  1.  Ride trivia:  I’ll ask at each ride some details that I have written about in my Blogs.  I’ll even give you a little hint for each ride.  Whoever gets the correct answer, wins a FREE entry into the 2016 Jackson County Brevet.
  2.  Ride participation:  you have to participate in a minimum of 8 of the 10 rides and you have to ‘check-in’ at each ride.  At the end of the Series, I’ll draw a winner for $250 worth of coaching from MyCycleCoach.com (in other words, me).  Remember, it’s up to you to make sure we get your name logged in for every ride you join.  We’ll have a laptop (yes, it has a yellow cover and keypad cover) going around to make sure you find it.
  3.  Ride guests:  if you have made the effort to tell your cycling friends about our Series and they come, then I want to reward your efforts.  Like #2 above, you need to ‘check-in’ along with your guest.  For every guest you bring, your name will be put in a drawing.  At the end of the Series, I’ll draw out a winner of $200 worth of coaching from MyCycleCoach.com.

RIDE CALENDAR
The rides are every other Saturday, so this way you don’t have to choose between your club or favorite group rides and ours; just alternate and ride both.  Win-Win.                   Screen Shot 2015-10-07 at 5.49.13 PM

Ride #3-   Sat, Dec 19th
Ride #4-    Sat, Jan 2nd
Ride #5-    Sat, Jan 16th
Ride #6-   Sat, Jan 30th
Ride #7-   Sat, Feb 13th
Ride #8-   Sat, Feb 27th
Ride #9-   Sat, Mar 12th
Ride #10- Sat, Mar 26th

Depending upon weather, we have moved the start time back an hour and have re-scheduled ride dates.  Hey, we are at the mercy of Mother Nature.

See you on December 19th

Coach Robert…

2 responses to “RECAP: Atlanta WBL Ride #2

  1. Hi! For your records – I’ve attended both rides 1 & 2 in the B group. (I somehow missed the part about signing in on the laptop.) I’ve really enjoyed this experience with the company of some of the nicest cyclists on the road.

    Thanks again for organizing this! Melanie

    • Hey Melanie,
      we are SO excited that you joined our Series. It gets more fun with every ride and I hope you help us by spreading the word to all your cycling friends!!!! You are ck’d in for both rides, too. See ya on the 19th!!!!!

Leave a Reply

